Beauty Hacks

Teeth Whitening @ Home

We all want that perfect white smile, right?

But if you are anything like me, you don’t want to go to dentist or spend lots of money on whitening kits that may or may not work.

So in light of the fact that I am going on holiday soon and also because I smoke, and drink A LOT of coffee, I googled ways to whiten teeth at home with products most of us have in our cupboards.

I decided to try out the following 2 methods:

Turmeric and Coconut Oil

What you will need:

  • Turmeric
  • Coconut oil (In solid form, at room temperature)
  • Plastic bowl for mixing (Use a bowl that you don’t mind getting stained)
  • Toothbrush

What you need to do:

  • Mix the turmeric and coconut oil until it forms a paste
  • Apply the paste, generously, to your teeth with your toothbrush
  • Leave it on for 5 minutes
  • Rinse with lukewarm water
  • Brush teeth with regular toothpaste afterwards

picmonkey-imdddddage

Caution:

  • The turmeric will stain skin, nails, clothes and your toothbrush

Results:

picmonkey-image

Conclusion:

I seems that my teeth were whiter before I tried the solution, so the turmeric might have stained my teeth a bit – even though all the self-help videos advised that it wouldn’t.

Clearly this did not work for me.

Useful Notes and Tips:

  • The paste does not taste great and feels strange
  • Do not be alarmed at how extremely yellow your mouth gets when applying the paste, it will wash off
  • You will salivate a lot, just spit out excess saliva
  • Leave your toothbrush in boiling water to get rid of excess turmeric and oiliness

 


 

Baking Soda and Lemon

What you will need:

  • Baking Soda
  • A lemon/ lemon juice (You can even use water if you don’t have any lemons)
  • Plastic bowl for mixing
  • Paper towel
  • Toothbrush

What you need to do:

  • Mix baking soda and the juice of the lemon until it forms a paste
  • Use the paper towel to wipe off any excess saliva on your teeth
  • Apply the paste to your teeth with your toothbrush
  • Leave it on for 2 minutes
  • Rinse with water

20160923_1111ssss57.jpg

Caution:

  • Do not leave the solution on your teeth for longer than 2 minutes, as the acid of the lemon juice can damage your enamel
  • It is recommended that you wait at least a half an hour before brushing your teeth or eating.
  • If you suffer from sensitive gums or teeth it is advised that you do not try this method

Results:

picmonkey-ssssimage

Conclusion:

I can notice a slight difference. I think doing this once or twice a week will definitely improve the colour of my teeth.

Useful Notes and Tips:

  • The paste does not taste great at all – I imagine it’s similar to what 3 day old pee would taste like
  • You will salivate a lot, just spit out excess saliva
  • Your gums and tongue might start feeling slightly numb

 


 

So there we have it folks! I will definitely try the baking soda and lemon solution again.

Please note that I did do these 2 hacks after each other. Even though I did not die, I don’t recommend doing it, as I’m pretty sure it’s not good for your teeth.

Leave a comment below and let me know what you think or what your experience was if you’ve tried one of the 2 method before.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

