Life Hacks

Oven Cleaning Hack – Baking Soda

I just love trying out life hacks and what a bonus if they actually work, right?

I also love cleaning, believe it or not. I find it extremely therapeutic and fulfilling. But if there’s one thing that I hate cleaning, it’s the oven.

All that scrubbing – ain’t nobody got time fo dat!

Naturally when I came across this oven cleaning hack that only requires baking soda and vinegar, I was super excited to try it. Even more so when I watched a couple of YouTube videos – the results were astounding!

You will need:

  • Baking soda
  • White vinegar
  • Empty spray bottle
  • Water
  • Kitchen scourer
  • Cloth

Here’s what you need to do:

  • Mix baking soda and water until it forms a soft paste
  • Take a kitchen scourer and apply the paste, by lightly scrubbing it onto the entire inside of the oven
  • Leave it on for at least 4 hours or ideally overnight
  • After leaving it to sit for sufficient time, spray it with vinegar
  • Then take a damp cloth and wipe off the baking soda and vinegar solution

VOILA! Now your oven should be looking brand spanking new!

462304.png

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever come home from a trip to beach and wondered how the hell it’s possible to bring so much sand with you? Maybe even finding sand on you or in your house a few days later?

Well this oven cleaning experience was worse. Way worse.

Sure, the oven was cleaner. But I probably spent about 4 hours trying to get rid of the baking soda. I swear I wiped one spot clean, then when I look away for a second, it’s everywhere again!

It went into every little, hard-to-clean nook and cranny of the oven. Eventually it was all over the floor, my clothes, my hair and even my dogs.

On a scale of 1 (Terrible) to 5 (Amazing) I would rate this cleaning hack: NOPE.

For those of you that want to try it:

 

For those who have tried it, leave a comment below – I would love to hear how you experienced this life hack.

2 thoughts on “Oven Cleaning Hack – Baking Soda

Leave a Reply

